6/9/2015, Initial rules up and running

There are lots of bugs still there, but the game is up and running and playing.  The goal was to get the playfield back  together by 6/11.  Finished it last Saturday, and spent some of Sunday working through the initial bugs.

I fixed one small issue with the Pinball Framework where updating the solenoid configuration was overwriting the initial configuration.  This meant that update configurations based on the rules file were not happening properly.  Two lines of code fixed it, but it took me a while to find.

There are a good number of issues that I just didn’t notice when I was programming in simulator mode.  These include issues such as hitting a drop target, and having it continuously score points until the drop targets are reset.  All easy fixes, but I just have to get around to fixing them one at a time and keeping a bug list.

I continue to need to work on the backglass.  Right now, I need to zip off an extra half inch because it doesn’t fit into the backbox.  Haven’t had the time to take it to the hardware store to get them to cut it.  The speaker panel is ready to be installed, and it is really going to help the game to have sounds coming out.  I’m not sure what I’m going to do about callouts at this point, but I may try fiver to get somebody to do a Western voice for me.  I have about two pages of dialog that I need.

Last note for the nights is to mention I’m giving a talk at Pintastic New England.  The talk is going to be on the SharpeShooter III restoration and the challenges.  Choices made, etc.  I think of myself as the Josh Kugler of the East coast.  I’ll be at the show all weekend, so if you get a chance, come on out and enjoy some great pinball.  (You can also vote for SharpeShooter III to win the restoration contest.)  If the machine gets any monetary prize, some of the money is going to Clay for all of the great information that he has provided the pinball community.  (His restoration tips are back up on the web which is great to see.)

Here is a link to the youtube video of the current status:

6/10/2015, updated with new video that fixes sound/video stuttering issues.

4 responses to “6/9/2015, Initial rules up and running

  1. I’ll be there Friday, and SS3 will be on the top of my list; interested to see how similar projects to mine have turned out.

    What day/time is your talk?

    • I believe that the talk is going to be on Friday afternoon. They haven’t told me a time yet. (I told them I’d be there all day Friday so I have no time constraints).

  2. Cool, hopefully I’ll be able to make it

  3. I have enjoyed reading the entire blog so far. Beginning the journey with my Williams Phoenix machine. Have built a virtual pinball machine from scratch now trying to give new life back to the Phoenix. Hope to try many of your idea’s using the Raspberry pi arduino Uno and make it a reality.

Leave a Reply

