10/16/2015, Interface document updated

Been porking the pooch lately on pinball.  Don’t really have much to show for my efforts, but alas, there is a new version of the interface document for the Gen 2 hardware.  Since I believe in interface based design, writing up the interface specification is the first major step to actually talking to the boards and supporting them.  With this awesome document, somebody could write an interface to the Mission Pinball Framework (MPF).

Here is a quick link to the document:

http://sourceforge.net/p/open-pinball-project/code/HEAD/tree/trunk/Docs/brdIntf.odt

The Gen 2 boards add a CRC8 to most command/responses to watch for serial interface errors.  Neopixel command and support have been added.  Most of the original commands are unchanged except for adding the CRC8 at the end of the command/response.  New commands have also been added to write the wing board configuration.

If browsing the code in the source forge repository, the trunk/Docs folder has all of the documentation.  A couple people have mentioned that they hadn’t seen the documentation.  Part of this stems from the fact that it was moved from a Google repository to a source forge repository, and there is now and empty folder called Docs at the head of the repository.

If I don’t publish this now, I will run into the fact that I’ll just have to add it to the next entry.  Sorry for the lack of content.

3 responses to “10/16/2015, Interface document updated

  1. Hi! I’m Brian, one of the guys working on the Mission Pinball Framework. I’ve been following your progress for awhile and been wanting to reach out. I just looks through your docs and you’re right.. it would be simple to control this hardware via MPF.

    I know everything you’re building is open.. Do you have hardware built-up that I could borrow to write the MPF platform interface? Since I’ve already written a few of them, I can probably do it pretty quickly. (A few days I would think.) I’ve got a full plate for the next few months to get MPF moved over to SDL2 from Pygame, but after that this would be a cool addition to make.

    Feel free to reach out directly. My email is my first name at missionpinball.com.

    Thanks!

  2. I am also busy getting the new Gen 2 boards up and running. Right now some functionality is working, but I’m hoping to complete the programming by the end of the year. At that point, I will send you a set of boards so you can integrate with them if you are still interested.

    The OPP has its framework, but I’m guessing that it is much more basic than what you guys have, so it would be great if you would be interested in integrating with the boards. The combination of MPF/OPP hardware could offer a much lower cost entry for people interested in building/updating a pinball machine.

Leave a Reply

