6/12/2016 – Where does this site go from here?

The Kickstarter is over and completed.  (Yes, I still have to send stickers to a couple people), but all the supporters have been sent their packages.  I’m still working on rewiring the SS3 playfield so that I can start running the Gen2 cards on it, but that is a background task that I’m not looking forward to, so it is going very slowly.  I’ve been rolling around in my head ideas on where I want the site to go from this point.

The people who supported the Kickstarter will need support, so questions that they ask and how to address them will be written up on this blog.  That isn’t going to be a lot of stuff and it will probably be pretty sporadic.

After much consideration, I think that I will blog about converting the SS3 rules to Mission Pinball Framework (MPF).  There is a lot of information on their site about how to do things, but it seems like many things can be done multiple ways.  I’m going to try and give insight into why I wrote my scripts in the way that I did, and what choices I made.  I’ve already completely coded SS3 in Python, so this will give an interesting perspective into scripts vs straight Python coding.

I’m going to focus only on the 0.30 branch of MPF.  It seems that the people who are driving MPF are trying to let the 0.21 branch die and move on from there.  MPF 0.21 is based on Python 2.7, while MPF 0.30 is based on Python 3.x.  There were some major changes between those versions of Python, so it will be a little bit of a learning curve for me.

The other nice thing is that I have my own code repository.  (Well, Source Forge does and it contains all of my source code).  I should be able to point to the exact version of source code that I’m currently working on, and with a few clicks, you can go back in time and see what the code looked like at that point.  Many times people write about issues they were having, but the code has morphed significantly from the time they were having issues to the current time.  Since all of my code is in the repository, I can simply say, at this point, I’m on version 240 of the repository.  When you grab the repository, you can say that you want to see version 240, and that allows you to go “back in time” to that point in development.  That will allow people to follow fixes and changes at their own pace, and even go back a couple years, and see how I solved certain things.

I’m pretty excited about that aspect of it.  (I’m not exciting to go back down to the basement and keep working on the rewire, but it is simply the drudgery that must be done.)  Much of the issue comes from the fact that I don’t want to simply rip off all the wires and start from scratch, but maybe that would have been easier in the long run.  Oh well, we will see.

I have a bunch of other blog entries that I want to write up too.  At some point I need to compare the current state of the OPP hardware with PROC and Fast.  It’s been something I’ve been meaning to do for over a year, but never got around to it.  The last blog entry that I need to write up is going the after the fact on the Kickstarter.  How much did Kickstarter take in fees?  Did I make money, or did I fall into a hole with all the shipping to different countries?  (I did have a box which cost about $34 to ship.  Didn’t see that one coming).

Pintastic New England is coming on July 8th & 9th.  I’m going to be on a panel about the state of homebrew pinball on Friday at 4:00 pm.  Stop by if you have a chance, and say hi.  I’ve never been on a panel before, so we will see how that goes.   Hopefully we will get some interesting questions.  I’m particularly interested in talking to mocean who is also supposed to be on the panel.

That’s all I can think of at this point.  Hopefully it will be interesting enough so people can continue to get good information from the blog.

3 responses to “6/12/2016 – Where does this site go from here?

  1. If you can, please have the panel conversation recorded and post that up here. Would like to hear that info. -Wayne

    • I don’t think anyone recorded the talk sorry to say. The previous year’s talks have also been removed, so unfortunately those are also lost. In the documents folder, you can see the slides that I used for the 2015 talk. Derek was at the talk and may have recorded it. I’ll try to reach out to him to see if he has anything next time I see him.

  2. Last years Pintastic videos have already disappeared. I should have grabbed the videos and tossed them on my youtube channel, but now they are gone. Jared from Stern recorded the talks last year, but I’m not sure what the plans are for this year. I actually haven’t heard back from David Marston (heads up the talks) for a couple of weeks, so I’m not 100% sure if it is going to happen.

Leave a Reply

