03/26/2017 – New SharpeShooter3 Video

Here is a video showing the difference between different solenoid initial kicks for the flippers and increasing the voltage.  What was once a lackadaisical unplayable machine is revived into a fun to play snappy machine.  Yes!  It really goes to show that it is difficult to set up the initial kick without using a pinball, and how a little bit of extra voltage (24V upped to 30V) makes a ton of difference.  I’m now back to excited about the machine.

4 responses to “03/26/2017 – New SharpeShooter3 Video

  1. Way to go. Another hurdle over came. This makes me thankful I did not encounter this issues with my system 1 gottlieb project. System 1 uses automated (non cpu controlled) flippers and lower kickers. A playfield relay enables and disables gameplay to them. With that in place I did not have the ability to adjust the kick time of the solenoids or worry about the end of stroke. Consequently it also means I can’t adjust it either without rewiring things.

  2. Dolly (Bally) has the same thing. The enable of the flippers were through a relay on the driver board and flippers were solely controlled by grounding the flipper voltage at the flipper buttons (as a low side switch). Since I’m completely replacing the driver board, I re-routed the signals so that the flippers are now controlled using two of the MOSFETs on a solenoid wing. The flipper buttons now goes to a direct inputs. The solenoid, I believe, will be configured as an on/off solenoid, so it should mimic the old functionality perfectly, with the exception that I can actually have the processor control the flippers if I feel like it. At this point, I don’t feel a use for it, but you can always have the no flipper hold modes such as in SharpeShooter3.

  3. I am also doing a system 1-ish project although custom layout etc, just using all system 1 parts. One of the reasons I want the flippers available is for high score initials entry. One thing I need to figure out that I haven’t even looked at yet is seeing if I can drive the original system 1 displays somehow, I’m sure it’s possible since replacement mpu’s do it, but may be above my knowledge/abilities.

    Nice to see the progress, I’ll remember this when the time comes to adjust mine.

    • It was a pain in the rump to do the Bally interface board. Basically I had to go through the schematics off all the Bally boards and see what could be remapped to what. (The goal being to drive Dolly with no wiring changes). It would have been easier to do that and not support all Bally machines of the era, but while I was taking the time, I might as well go the whole way and support everything. If I did the work properly, somebody could take the interface board and update even a Xenon machine without changing any wiring.

      If you are doing an update and are willing to change wiring it makes things a lot easier (at least in my opinion). Driving the displays is probably going to be a pain. At one point I did a replacement display board for old Williams boards. Only problem was that after doing it, it was much more cost effective just to buy other solutions which are out there. (Rottendog, pinscore) If I remember correctly, Williams basically output the data in parallel (BCD format) with an addressing signal to say what digit it is. If you go back through the blog, there might be some useful information back there. Sorry I can’t give you anything more concrete.

Leave a Reply

