7/14/2017 – Youtube videos of talk available

If anybody is really bored this weekend, here are the videos of the talk that I gave on pinball electronics.  Goes from EM machines to what I call Gen3 machines.  Those who couldn’t make it to Pintastic 2017 might be interested.

I forgot to mention the total cost of the Van Halen machine.  All said and done, it cost about $480 to make it a reality.  That included everything from the base non-working Dolly machine to the two cards that I blew up and replaced because I kicked out the ground plug.

Without further adieu, here are the videos.  (It was broken into 3 separate files by the camera, and I don’t know how to join them together, so sorry about that.)

Look, it’s Dave Marston as the thumbnail!

 

2 responses to “7/14/2017 – Youtube videos of talk available

  1. Awesome, thanks for sharing. I have been experimenting with my own lamp switch. It is a lowside switch that using a shift register and darlington array.
    So I’m shifting bits to a bank of four shift registers. The shift registers in turn turn on and off the banks in the darlington arrays that turn on of the ground.
    The unl2803 do the replacement of the fets. So I use 4 unl2803 instead of 32 fets. I have each chip in a holder so I can just pop them out rather than have to unsolder . Is this a good solution, not sure yet.

  2. That is definitely one way to go. My original lamp cards (Gen1) did that exact same thing, except I chose MOSFETs instead of the uln2803. Maximum continuous current on that part is 500 mA for 8 outputs. When I measured the current on an incandescent bulb, it was about 250 mA for each bulb which is why I ended up going with individual MOSFETs. Second reason was that I wanted to have the control, such as blinking, done by the individual card itself. That way I wouldn’t need to continuously send the same data stream all the time. (This was mostly due to the fact that I was bit banging the interface.) If I had a DMA (raspberry Pi comes to mind) to do the data transfer, it would not have worried me as much. (as it was I was using windows XP and bit banging using the parallel port).

Leave a Reply

